How often in your life have you made this statement, “Where is God, I feel so alone, why are You so silent?” Let me pose this question though, “Is He really silent or are we just not listening?”

I think we have all asked that question one time or another. It’s a question I pondered today, not because I felt as if God had abandoned me but because I realized how much distraction there is in this world that can mute out God’s voice and leading as He is speaking to us. Do we really take time in silence and allow God to move in our hearts? How do we expect to hear from the Lord if the TV is on all the time, among other things, that distract us away from His still small voice? We live in such a technology savvy, fast paced, noisy society that often times we whine (yes I said whine) at God because we feel as if we feel He is nowhere to be found and He isn’t offering us direction for our lives. It’s almost as if we are afraid of quietness. But when was the last time you went a day just being with the Lord? Don’t get me wrong, I freely admit I’m probably one of the worst at doing this however (uh newly convicted girl writing this blog!) God is showing me that I need to have more days like this. Starting my day with a prayer, “God meet me here today and show me more of You. Open up my eyes to the world around me and give me a burden for those who are lost, for those who are hurting. Let this day be about You and You alone. I’m listening Lord, speak to me today.” And LISTEN!

I really don’t think that God enjoys screaming at us while we have our fingers in our ears or are distracted by the chaos around us, saying “Can You Hear Me Now?”. He’d much rather you just turn off the noise in your life and just LISTEN to Him. Sound a little strange? Yeah it maybe a little awkward at first but think of it this way; you are spending time with a God who loves you so much that He wants to be in communication with you. He wants to break down those barriers that invade our heart and that deafen us to His voice in our lives. So will you take the challenge? Quiet down, slow down, be attentive, pray, get in your Bible and let God speak to You.  Don’t make God say to you, “Can You Hear Me Now?” And don’t ask God, “Can YOU hear me now?” when you aren’t doing your part.

