Have you ever had someone tell you that you were stubborn? I’ve always known that I had a tendency toward stubbornness, however God brought to my attention that my stubbornness at times wears a bit of a disguise. Stubbornness, disguised or not, can keep us from being obedient to the Lord in what He has called us to do. Have you ever prayed and prayed and prayed about something that you knew God wanted you to do? Yeah, maybe he didn’t speak audibly to you, saying “You shall do _______” and list off specific things. It seems we often try to force God into making our desires come to fruition instead of saying “Thy Will be Done” it’s “My Will Be Done”. Out of stubbornness we try to change the mind of God through prayer knowing full well that the specific thing we are seeking His guidance on, He has already told us to do. God never intended for prayer to be a stalling tactic but I know in my life I have used it as one and I’m sure I’m not alone in that. We let our excuses, fear and feeling of inadequacy run rampant in an attempt to make sure we let God know that we aren’t the right person for the job. So now we know more than the God who created us? I think not! He knows what we are capable of and incapable of and He also knows that by ourselves, we don’t have anything to offer, but with Him living through us and in His strength we have everything to offer a broken, fallen world and He wants to use us for His glory. 

I looked up the word stubborn and one definition popped out at me, “unyielding”. Often times we let our stubbornness rule over us which causes us to be unyielding to God. We in essence say, “I know better than God” and we fail to listen and surrender to His Lordship. When we think we know best, and we fail to surrender to the Lord, maybe not outright, maybe it’s disguised but we say “No” to God by our actions. At the root of stubbornness is pride – trusting and loving myself more than I fear (respect/reverence) and trust in the Lord.

I know in my life I have used the stalling tactic of “God I really don’t know what your will is? Please tell me.”  And then the Lord says “Well haven’t you read my Word lately, I’ve laid it all out in their for you. If you know my Word, you’ll know my will” In my mind I come up with all these reasons why I shouldn’t serve the Lord in a certain capacity, when after months of “praying and meditating” on it like a “good Christian”, I realize that I’ve been dragging my feet out of fear and unyielding stubbornness to God’s plan because doing so would cause me to have to step out in faith, to surrender to the Lord, and to go out of my comfort zone. I’m not saying we shouldn’t seek God’s guidance but so often we know exactly what God wants out of us and yet we use stall tactics, one of them being prayer. I at times find myself saying to the Lord, “I’ll serve you in this way because it’s easier. It requires less time and energy, it’s more comfortable for me. It doesn’t challenge me. I don’t want to do what you want me to do, I want to do things my way.” But is that really doing as the Lord commanded us to do in 1 Samuel 12:24, “But be sure to fear the LORD and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you.”  With that mentality am I really fearing the Lord, am I serving the Lord with all my heart. Am I really bringing Him glory by just serving Him because it’s convenient and requires little of me.

I see myself a lot in the character of Moses. After the Lord laid out for Him exactly what He was to do, he said to the Lord in Exodus 3-4(my paraphrase), “God you must be out of your mind, can’t you find someone who is more capable? You have to know I’m not good with words. I’ll be humiliated. What if they don’t listen to me?” Excuse after excuse.

So how about you? Are you throwing at God all the excuses in the book of why you can’t do what He is telling you to do? Are you plugging your ears while God is talking and/or talking over Him with selfish prayers with an agenda to have your own way? Are you letting your fears rule over you instead of letting God rule over you?

I challenge you. Be dangerously surrendered to the Lord. Lay self aside and go all out for God. Trust Him with your insecurity and uncertainty and like the Nike slogan says “Just do it!” Stop stalling. Get there and start living a life of wholehearted service for Him remembering that it might not be easy, it’s gonna take work, but also realizing it’s not about you! It’s for God’s kingdom and glory.

