There is a song out by singer/songwriter Twila Paris (it’s been out since the 90’s) called “Do I Trust You”. If you have never heard it, you really need to. Every time I hear it, it is a challenge and reminder to me. Do I really trust God? I mean, I say I do, but do I really?

There are times in life when things in our life don’t happen exactly like we have planned and we wonder where was God during that time in our lives? Why didn’t He stop the pain? All those thoughts come into our minds and all of those thoughts are from Satan, trying to get us to doubt what we know to be true of God. We need to make sure that we aren’t just “trusting” God in the good times but that we are truly trusting Him with EVERYTHING, good, bad and ugly! We need to trust Him that He has and always has had and always will have our best interest at heart, period.

There is a quote I have heard over and over that says…“God said it, I believe it, that settles it.” That is what our lives should be. Our trust should be so strong and undoubting in God that when things go wrong, we look to Him and say “Lord you said it in your word, and I’m going to believe it as truth, and let those truths be what drives me in my life.” So are you trusting in God or do the situations in your life determine whether or not you trust Him? Do you trust Him with your everything?

Back when I was a teenager, I made Proverbs 3:5-6 my life verse and it needed to be my life verse, not because I was faithfully doing what the verse said either but because I wasn’t and sometimes I still struggle with it. It’s a verse that I need to keep in front of me all the time.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

In my life, there have been many times when I have leaned on my own understanding and I’ve just ended up flat on my face, in deep despair and depression. There are times in life when things happen that we completely don’t understand, that don’t make sense to us. But I have realized how completely stupid we are when we don’t trust God with all our heart and we lean on our understanding. I mean, think about it, the God of the universe who created you and me, created the trees, the flowers, the birds, the world, loved us enough to offer us a way to have a relationship with Him even though all we do is mess up in life…and we have the nerve to think that we know what is best for our lives. How ignorant and even self destructive is that way of thinking? Doesn’t it make more sense that we trust God who has been through it all, seen it all, and conquered all? So where are you? Are you trusting in what you can see or are you trusting God, pure and simple, regardless of whether or not you understand? And later on in the passage, are you acknowledging him with your everything, are you making Him your everything? God is waiting to do something incredible in our lives, if you will only trust Him!

